Taking Ownership of Recovery

Started by Atticus Finch, March 28, 2017, 06:46:42 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Atticus Finch

Please can some of you share stories of taking ownership of your recovery? Can a caring outsider help turn up the pressure to do so or is that counterproductive?
I have been fighting for 5 years to help my child recover from PTSD following horrific abuse suffered away from home. Even their renowned therapist is stepping back a little to find their strategy forward. Child S is much closer to adulthood and while we are still exploring medication and therapy aids to reduce anxiety, it feels more and more clear that they are comfortable in the stuckiness and afraid of life beyond. We try to instil in S the plan of 1) look after your body anxiety first 2) talk yourself into the present 3) find something to do that lives in the present. But something I feel is missing from this. My wife was broken down in grief and despair last night over the seeming helplessness of getting through. I am forcing myself to keep hope and faith.

I found the thread on recovery motivation helpful (21317). while it did not directly address this it gave me confidence in the wisdom of this group.

Many thanks,
Atticus

radical

Hi Atticus Finch and welcome,
It sounds like you could use some support and some healing yourself.  It must be so hard to try and support your child in this situation.

It sounds as if you are saying your child is passive and possibly resistant to the steps those around him or her wish them to take  (sorry, not sure whether to use a gender pronoun or not.)