Trying To Support My Fiance & Help Myself

Started by SaktiGirl, December 17, 2014, 07:01:28 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

SaktiGirl

Hi Everyone,

I hope you are all well. This is my first time posting to a board on here. so hello!

So here's my story. I've recently started up therapy (sometime in June 2014), and now 6 months later the layers of my life are beginning to unfold and I am having complete clarity on those around me. Just a little background, I do not have a PD, but I am surrounded by people with PDs. My mother is most likely histrionic (un-diagnosed), and my sister is BPD (diagnosed). My dad is a sweet guy, with confidence, and smarts, but he has been sandwiched between his dominant wife, and even more dominating BPD daughter for years. Then there's me. the black sheep, scapegoat, anxious one. This lead me into therapy. (I left home at 18, sister stayed up until 5 months ago. She is 30 yrs old, I am 33. Lots of them against me dynamic).

I've been in therapy before (2007-2009) and always knew that my panic attacks and anxiety stem from my upbringing. My therapist then was good but the one I have now is fantastic. I wish everyone could see her! She is really focused and grounding, and she has helped me pin point my powerlessness. Through the years, I've tended to choose boyfriends that either challenged me, or were seemingly comforting- well at least they are at first.