Veterans with C-PTSD

Started by Sissysunshine, July 07, 2017, 12:44:40 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Sissysunshine

Curious on how many of you are veterans either of combat or MST?  I have complex PTSD, GAD, Insomnia, agoraphobia, anorexia nervousa, Social anxiety just to name a few lol... I go to group therapy twice a week and one on one once a week.  Several months ago I completed a 6 week inpatient program at a Veterans Administrative Hospital.  I guess I am curious on how many of you deal with VA, What has been your results?  Do you feel like you are getting enough support?  I attend a Vet Center for all my groups and therapy as the VA hospitals are understaffed and it is 3-6 months between therapy and medical appointments. 

Dee

I'm with you!  I am a vet with CPTSD, MST, and anorexia along with a few other ones.  I have a small VA and I do not attend any groups.  They are totally unprepared to deal with anorexia.  I do have an outstanding therapist and psychiatrist for which I am really grateful for.  They did use choice to send me to a two month inpatient trauma program that really, really helped.  There are not any VA inpatient programs in my region.  For me medical sucks, mental health is good.

freida

Been there.  Done that.  I'm pretty happy with the VA. I'm doing EMDR there once a week but it did take a couple months to get in.  They talked inpatient at one time but I have major issues with locked doors so that was a no go.   And yippee! I can actually tell her I posted a response lol

Andyman73

Andyman73