Well hello!

Started by Unbound, September 02, 2017, 06:17:52 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Unbound

Hi everyone. I'm Unbound, I'm a 29 year old writer who lives in the Northeast US. I don't have my CPTSD officially diagnosed yet, but I do have a PTSD diagnosis (from a series of horseback riding accidents). I've thankfully managed to move past the riding trauma with the unexpected help of ADHD medication. I was diagnosed with ADHD about eighteen months ago, am on medication for that, and it's made a very wonderful difference in my life! I'm still working through various ADHD symptoms and setbacks but I'm worlds better than I was even two years ago. But my CPTSD, which stems from my emotionally abusive mom, is a much larger monster, and it's beginning to seriously impact my relationship with my fiance, particularly where money is concerned. So I'm here to talk about it, get some input and support and maybe some ideas for treatment - I'm in both individual therapy and couples' therapy already, but more helping hands never hurt. As I'm newly engaged, I really want to help my relationship work and continue to grow. My fiance has a number of mental health concerns, including sharing ADHD, so he does get to an extent, but he doesn't have PTSD or CPTSD, so sometimes the specifics are hard for him to understand.

Some initial questions:
For those of you who have both CPTSD and ADHD, how do you find that your rejection sensitive dysphoria from the ADHD impacts your CPTSD? Some people with ADHD don't have RSD, but this is the exception rather than the rule. Sometimes it's hard to tell where my CPTSD ends and my RSD begins; there's a lot of overlap between the two.

How do you handle an emotional flashback if your partner has triggered one in you? Do you have protocol in place for moving past it and healing together?