New to group

Started by Traveller, September 21, 2017, 12:57:08 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Traveller

Hi !
I am a ACOA & survivor of childhood verbal & emotional abuse as well as childhood sexual abuse. For various reasons when I was between 28 and 40, I sought therapy usually for depression and/or anxiety. Most would say I've been pretty successful & I do have a good marriage, work that I enjoy, 2 sons, and friends, but I have never felt good enough. Its always been a struggle to let people "really" know me, so even though I have always had friends none knew how anxious I was - I hide it well and few knew my family history.
Ironically, I am a therapist who does a lot of work with adults with childhood trauma so I knew there had to be something deeper that I wasn't dealing with. I had self-diagnosed myself as C-PTSD, worked on things on my own, & convinced myself that I was doing fine & in many ways I was.  Two yrs. ago I needed PT after a surgery & I started having body memories, intrusive thoughts, & my anxiety skyrocketed. When I couldn't get it together, I found a therapist who could help me work through the memories of sexual abuse that were surfacing. It's been a * of a journey, but I'm less anxious.
I have become very aware of how secretive I always been about my childhood history & my struggle with recovery. I hid my anxiety from everyone. So joining this forum is part of my attempt to come out of hiding. I'd like to connect with other people who "really get it".
Thanks for listening.

Sceal

Hello traveller
And welcome to the forum.

I can empathize with keeping the pain and the hurt a secret, it sure takes a toll. I hope that you will find connections here on you way to healing.

Traveller

Thanks for the reply. Even though part of me knows that the shame belongs to my abuser, it is difficult to not get sucked into that cycle of shame.

Sceal

Quote from: Traveller on September 22, 2017, 08:45:08 PM