C-PTSD, Sensory Processing Disorder, and Giftedness

Started by Milarepa, February 13, 2015, 01:18:55 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Milarepa

Has anyone else here had experience with Sensory Processing Disorder and / or giftedness as it relates to trauma?

I recently started learning about Sensory Processing Disorder after a child in my life was diagnosed with it. It often co-occurs with autism spectrum disorders, but sometimes it happens on its own as well. As I read about it, I immediately recognized some of the issues in myself. As a child, I always walked on my tip toes to avoid having contact with the ground because the soles of my feet were way too sensitive to pressure, pebbles in my shoes, the seams of my socks, dirt, dust, grit, or anything else that might make contact with them. I am also very sensitive to too much light and a lot of objects moving in front of me like when there is lots of traffic or a bug is buzzing around.

It seems to me that kids who have untreated SPD may be more prone to C-PTSD because the world doesn't make sense and can seem like an unpredictable and scary place when you react to certain stimuli so much more intensely than others do. If you're already in a precarious situation because your FOO isn't taking care of your needs, having an undiagnosed case of SPD could make things a lot worse.

Another aspect that I've been thinking about a lot lately is giftedness. I recently read this article (http://calgaryherald.com/life/swerve/gifted-children-are-frequently-misunderstood) about how gifted kids are often rewarded for intellectual achievements but their emotional needs are not easily understood. Apparently, Sensory Processing Disorder and giftedness often go hand-in-hand: